How your charity can get more followers on Instagram.

If you have read my blog before you might have gathered that I like Instagram. My personal IG site/page is personal, but clearly a big part of my life involves leading and volunteering for charitable organizations. So as a result my personal IG page looks like a Hodge podge of charity posts mixed in with my family pics and pictures about my personal images. Not the I would recommend you manage your charities IG account or other social media in this way, probably quite the opposite, however my IG account has a few followers and I clearly am going to use my personal social media to gather support and awareness for the organizations that I am passionate about, that I work for, that I volunteer or that I donate to (or frankly in some cases all of the above).

However I do feel that Instagram is a powerful tool for a charity or a nonprofit organization. It is the old a “picture is worth a thousand words” adage. A charity that has a compelling story to tell -that can be visual should be utilizing this media. Now on social media you often hear people say that it is less important how many followers you have than  how engaged they are. There is some truth to this, however think about this if your charity was offered a 60 second commericial for free during the Super Bowl or you could have that same 60 second commercial on your local community access station -which would you chose? I am guessing you would choose the Super Bowl- why? because so many more people will see your commericial. Having more followers on IG means more people are going to see your story, see the important work you do in your community, and find out about your need for volunteers and donors. Okay so lots of followers is not everything, but lets face it having a few more than you have now isn’t going to hurt you and the likelihood is that the more you have the more donors and volunteers you are going to attract to do the important work you are doing in your community.

So with this in mind using hash tags on your IG posts is a great way to increase your following and the video below tells you exactly how to do this:

One thought on “How your charity can get more followers on Instagram.

Leave a Reply

