Using Periscope to promote your Fundraising Events

Periscope was launched at the end of March this year. Shortly after Twitter acquired the app and re-released it in May. So it is safe to say that it is a pretty new platform. I am not sure a lot of charities will be jumping on the periscope band wagon right away but I think the platform does have some unique offerings for the sector. Incidentally when twitter bought the platform it was for a rumored $100 million. So the folks who run Twitter must have seen a lot of potential in the platform. When the app and platform launched a lot of the press was about the ability to live stream to the world. That sounds pretty impressive, but I am not sure if the whole world is paying attention to my “scopes” as periscopers call them. I have a decent twitter following so the platform was immediately interesting to me as you can automatically tweet out a link to your periscope broadcasts. For an organization like ours where we do a lot of events in the Houses for our families- it does give you the ability to broadcast what you are doing in real time. The thing I like about the format is scopes are in real time, so viewers are a little more accepting of rough or unedited content. Sometimes overly produced video gives the impression to stakeholders that you are spending a lot of money – probably donated money. The link below is a scope I did yesterday. I am going to warn you-shot this with my phone and seemed to have some kind of gunk on the lens- so this one is really rough. However I wanted to be able something unique or special to my twitter and periscope followers. All in all in promotes one of our biggest fundraising events. But if you follow my social media and watch the broadcast- you get something special- a discount on registration. By the way if you click the link you will see something else I love about periscope. The app will automatically download to your photos file on your iPhone or iPad. Periscope broadcasts disappear within 24 hours but with this feature you can load the videos you want to keep to your you tube (or your charities you tube) channel.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E1miY3oJRQA

Leave a Reply

